top of page
  • Writer's pictureHerel Grace Casasola

A Seafarer Mom, Venturing to Freelancing

I became a seafarer at the age of 21 as an entertainment host in Royal Caribbean International, very innocent and have no idea what it is all about. All I know, I am hired because of my background as a theater actor and the interviewer just asked me if I can host. My journey was not easy. Entering in a different world, traveling alone without knowing what it’s all going to be on a ship. In short, I am overwhelmed with everything.


After seven years, while still working onboard I met my husband. I got pregnant first before being married together. The unexpected situation of me being pregnant was petrifying. My parents did not know the whole thing. Until we can’t hide it anymore and that gave us the courage to do what is right. I am six months in the pudding club when I decided to come home in the Philippines with so much fear of being judged and be humiliated by some of my family members. But it turned out the other way. Everyone were very supportive and I was well taken care of.


The day has come that I have to leave my newborn baby girl to my parents so I can go back to working and start earning again. It was a punishing moment that I cannot bear to leave her, since she was our first child. From her, I gained the courage that I am doing this for her future and for our dreams as a family. I was downhearted at the situations but I have no choice but to leave and carry on. Many sleepless nights and melancholy. I combatted these emotions and will never get used to it, even at this time we already have two children and the cycle of my emotions is continual.


Somehow, this pandemic (COVID19 virus) had allowed me to stay longer with my kids. But as this health emergency worldwide is taking its toll, I and my husband are getting worried with our situation such as financially and especially losing our jobs (cruise industry is suspended worldwide). Eventually, I was encouraged by some of my friends whose already in the Virtual Assistance world to venture. At first, I was hesitant as I don’t know anything about it but been reading articles/blogs about virtual assistance until the Filipino Virtual Assistance facebook ad showed up on my screen, advertising their promos on their different courses. I was joyous to see a Freelancing Course for newbies! Without any hesitations, I did my inquiries and enrolled with FVA (biggest freelancing platform in the Philippines). Knowing that I am inexperience, no tools such as personal computer or laptop. Perhaps, God allowed all these things to happen as for me to stay with my kids, able to take care of them, be a domesticated mother and wife, and the good thing is earning while working at home.


Currently, I am on my 3rd week in the freelancing course and as to date I am learning different skills/task as a freelancer virtual assistant should acquire. Not only that, I gained so much inspiration and encouragement from my batchmates and from our coach,” Coach Grace” as we call her. Freelancing is not an easy road, there are struggles along the way but I believe God has guided me all throughout!


Maybe, I have so much fear entering to this new journey that I am venturing but on the other end of this I know that I will succeed. From the help of FVA, I can assure that I am in good hands. And now, I have created my personal website to showcase my portfolios and services for business owners and professionals.


I always believe in this, there is always a rainbow after the rain. Glory to God!


I am Professional.

I have Efficiency.

Herel Grace Virtual Assistance is Effective.

26 views0 comments
bottom of page